Flicker.

Knock, knock, knock
But there’s nobody home
Not today
And maybe never

You didn’t pass the test
I’m embarrassed to admit
I switched the lights off
Before your very eyes

If you noticed
You never said
You played along
A charade nonetheless

Don’t worry I’m used to it
And perhaps I set you up
A cruel joke
The darkest of comedies

Mum always told me
It wasn’t worth the tears
She was wrong
But it’s too late to fix

A stiff upper lip
Fuses forever
Deserted and devoid
An emotional island

Leave a Reply

